Six students compete in Ms. FMU 2016 pageant


Photo by: Christian Xan

The contestants line up as the runners up and Ms. FMU are announced Tiara Lonon, second from the right, was Ms. Congeniality.

FMU held the annual Ms. FMU pageant, giving the crown to the 45th lady Patriot. The event, held on April 5, began a week before with individual interviews with the judges. This portion of the pageant is weighted more than the others. The night of the pageant began a dance performed by the contestants to the song “You Gotta Be” by Des’ree. Host J. Hayes McLendon and Ms. FMU 2015 Rose Williams introduced first the auditor of the event, Teresa McDuffie. The contestants were then introduced in the casual wear portion. The contestants were: Hannah Russell, sophomore; Stephanie Schemerhorn, junior; Aiyanna Johnston, sophomore; Paulette Sarrazin, sophomore; Tiara Lonon, sophomore; Glennie Tanner, sophomore. After the casual wear portion of the pageant, the ladies left the stage, and the judges were introduced. The first judge was Dr. Leroy Peterson, the chair of the FMU chemistry department. The second judge was Anna Todd, the director of marketing. The third judge was Arthenius Jackson, a member of FMU’s school of business. The final judge was Dr. Hubert Setzler, a marketing professor at FMU.

The ladies returned to the stage for the formal wear portion of the pageant. The ladies were able to show off their most formal attire while the hosts spoke more about each contestant’s aspirations and future plans. Immediately following the formal wear portion, a slideshow was presented with pictures of each contestant, including childhood pictures of the women.

After the slideshow, the ladies lined up on stage for questions. The contestants randomly drew a judge’s name out of a bowl, and the judge chosen read a prepared question. This portion gave the contestants a chance to discuss their opinions and beliefs.

While the judges deliberated, there was a special musical performance by student government association president Samuel A. Smoot and Brittani Aiken. Smoot played piano while Aiken sang. Williams returned to the stage for the last time as Ms. FMU.

The contestants came back on the stage for the crowning. The contestants selected Lonon as Miss Congeniality. Sarrazin was crowned 2nd runner up, and Johnson was crowned 1st runner up. Ms. Williams crowned Shemerhorn Ms. FMU 2016. Shemerhorn is the current president of Kappa Delta Sorority and member of the American Chemistry Society. When asked what Shemerhorn is looking forward most about being Ms. FMU, she said it was doing the community service project and representing FMU.